Get Your Thank You On…

The way I was raised, when you get a gift, you send a thank you note. In my family if you don’t send one it is as if you have committed a cardinal sin and must be penalized. ( i.e. no gifts next year) I think its important, it shows gratitude and is polite. Simply put. I don’t really care to receive them, but I do feel compelled to write them.

Now that the holidays have ceased we have a mountain of thank yous to write.  How can I get my almost-one-year old to write a note? Well, I can’t. He can express to me how much he loves the toys he received and every time I put on his adorable organic jammies he writhes around and says, ‘ OOoooooo!’ But I have been brainstorming a creative way to do notes this year.

Vintage Chica– Draw up a note with fill int he blanks! Love this idea

image from Vintage Chica

We opted for handmade ones. What can a one year old do? Handprints! Hooray!

Baby Handprints!Supplies:

Non- Toxic Paint

Paper

A Paint brush or craft sponge

A Baby

1) Seat child in a highchair  and adorn clothes you don’t mind painting in 🙂

2) Paint the child’s hand with paint and stamp away!

Tips: They aren’t going to come out perfect- your child is a baby 🙂 abstract is better anyways! 🙂

We included a little note on each card that said thanks for the gift etc and added Happy Valentine’s Day as they were red and white.


3 Comments »

  1. becki325 said

    Good idea! we still need to do ours.

  2. peasoutmama said

    No really, you’re my hero. So here’s an etiquette question for you, ’cause thank you notes were big in my family too. Do you send thank you notes to people you got to thank already (either in person or b/c you’re in touch with them regularly)? I used to err on the side of sending a thank you anyway, but over the past few years have changed my philosophy. Not sure what’s the “right” way to go.

  3. hollieiv said

    I don’t think there is a right or wrong way- I usually just send them. I am not sure what Martha Stewart says about the whole thing.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

