Voting with and for the unborn

Wow, can you believe it ? He won, he really won! I am still not over my shock and disbelief.

I will never forget where I was when I heard that Obama had been voted President of the United States. It was 3:30 AM and I was up due to the unborn squirming around and I sleepily remembered the election. Jumped on my phone and there it was on the mobile version of CNN.com, ‘ Obama elected, Change has come to America.’ With that, I went right back to sleep with dreams of change and prosperity.

I rushed out of work on Tuesday so that I could make it to my polling station before it closed, thanks to Mel Gibson I sat in my car on 495 for 1 hour and 15 min. Apparently there was one of his new movies in progress filming in a rest area. Seriously? On election day ? How selfish. ANYWAY- Dashed home to let the dogs out and off we went.

Arrive to the polls at 715 and waited in no line! As I walked to the voting area thinking, wow, I am carrying my child to the polls and voting for a African American president for the first time and more importantly I am voting for someone I truly believe has the good of the American public at heart. It was empowering, exciting and unbelievably emotional. I thought of all that had come before me that had to fight for the right to vote as African Americans and women and marked my vote for Obama. Proudly.

My husband and I walked out smiling from ear to ear, hand in hand thinking the cliche phrase, ‘ Yes we can.’

Leave a Reply

