Money and the holidays fast approaching…

Today, I looked at the calendar and we are almost done with October. Can you believe it ? Neither can I.

If my wallet could speak it would actually scream profanities about how everything is going up but the amount being inserted in remains the same. Groceries have gone up and our husband is now limited to meat twice a week and  me fish once every two. Designer coffee daily is off limits and we now return every can and bottle we come in contact with.

We will survive, my grandmothers both remind me of times that were worse. We live in a society where consumption is king and it is difficult to  not make that weekly trip to Target to peruse the shiny shelves and gather up items that will collect clutter or end up in a pile on the bottom of our closets. My new shopping fix is Goodwill, my kid is going to be a snappy dresser. I found a Hanna Andersen coat for 1.99$!

With the holidays fast approaching- apparently Newbury Street has hung their holiday lights- I am pondering what I will make for gifts this year. Last year I made nifty plants in mason jars, big hit so this year I feel like I have to top it. My husband and I are thinking homemade salad dressings as well as a few wreathes. For the kiddies I am making crayon wraps with coloring books.

How are you gift giving this year? Money saving tips ?I am all ears!

Leave a Reply

