The ‘N’ Word

I am rarely home to watch The View but I saw this clip on Perez that I thought I would share. I don’t know whether or not I agree with Whoppi, but she does make a good point.

Its true, my own grandmothers on both sides still use this word. I find it uncomfortable to hear in any situation. Am I going to stop buying Kanye’s songs on ITunes? No. But, I do not allow the use of the word in my house or my presence. Use of the word perpetuates the hate and stereotypes that plagued my ancestors.

I have gotten better about calling it out to people when I hear them use it. It hurts me to think that people still use it today in their everyday vernacular, especially at home around their children.

[redlasso id=”c786f936-2ff9-412a-bc4a-3794137b0f7b”]

Leave a Reply

