The Tale of the Broken Deck

Beach

It’s February and its cold. I don’t mind cold, but I just need a tan.

Valentine’s Day is around the corner. I hate holidays, but deep down I love them because I get to decorate the house or spread a little cheer amongst my friends.

Today I came to the realization that my husband and I need a vacation. There is a different between want and need my friends… We are both pasty looking balls of stress.

We were supposed to go away in January, but work prevented us from leaving town. What is keeping us from our beloved holiday in some exotic place now? A broken fence and a broken deck. ( To the tune of about $2, 500+/-)

 100_4589.jpg

 A useless story about my deck:

 My grandmother lived in this house for 50 something years and had a beautiful pool. The pool was so plush that people actually came from around the neighborhood to visit this pool. Then one day she decided she didn’t want it any more and she had a guy fill it with sand. Then she had it covered with a deck.

Rational? We aren’t so sure. But then the deck started to go and sadly her mind started to go and eventually the deck was forgotten. Poor deck.  Even when I was a child I dreaded summers on Monadnock Rd. because I didn’t want to sit on the deck because it would give you splinters.

Riddled with holes and probably infested with some sort of insects ( perhaps the family of the unnamed spider in my bathroom)  the deck must go this spring. So here we sit pasty and stressed waiting for the ground to thaw.

Oh how I love New England. A new deck that we can use for three months. Yippee!

Leave a Reply

